Two of the most common labels found on beauty products today are “vegan” and “gluten-free” -- and it’s important to know the difference depending on what lifestyle you follow and which factors mean the most to you. The two are not the same, although they can occasionally coincide. Read on to learn more about the difference between vegan and gluten-free beauty.
What does “vegan” mean?
Vegans do not consume any animal products nor animal byproducts -- it’s the big difference between veganism and vegetarianism. Vegans also don’t use products, beauty or otherwise, that are derived from animals. Some of the most common animal-derived ingredients in beauty products include beeswax, lanolin (from sheep’s wool), gelatin, squalene, shellac, keratin, collagen and animal hair (for brushes). Thankfully, there are plenty of alternatives available for those who still want the same benefits that these ingredients have to offer. These alternatives include nut-based oils, hyaluronic acid, soya protein, and plant waxes.
Are Vegamour products vegan? YES!
What does “gluten-free” mean?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye -- a product is gluten-free as long as it’s completely free of these substances. But where is gluten found in cosmetics and skincare? Beauty products can contain wheat protein, wheat-germ oil, barley, and wheat-seed or rye extract, which can be found in many unlikely places, such as shampoo, lipstick, facial cleanser, soap, toothpaste, shaving gel, and lotion.
As time has passed, more and more people have developed gluten allergies (or have always been sensitive to gluten). Either way, there’s a lot more awareness -- and that’s a great thing, especially because those with Celiac disease and gluten allergies can deal with extreme flare-ups by simply touching or crossing over gluten products. However, when it comes to beauty products, research is conflicting, with some stating that gluten-containing beauty products . pose no threat to those with an allergy  and others stating that allergic reactions are still possible .
Are Vegamour products gluten-free? YES!
Does that mean that vegan beauty products are automatically gluten-free?
To be clear, vegan does not equal gluten-free. However, consumers can follow both lifestyles and only eat a vegan, gluten-free diet while applying the same rules to certain goods and beauty products. Meat, seafood, poultry, and dairy all qualify as gluten-free, but are obviously not vegan. On the other hand, vegans can consume gluten, as some popular vegan dishes include pasta, bread, barley, and rye. Yet, there are foods that are vegan and gluten-free at the same time including fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, brown rice, and quinoa, to name a few. This does not mean that gluten-free and vegan are the same -- and the same logic applies to beauty products. If either or both choices are important to you, make sure you look for both signs on the label, read the ingredients lists, and contact the brand if you’re unsure.